LAKE PARK FL Carrying a Concealed Weapon Defense Attorneys
If you or a loved one has been charged with a weapons offense such as carrying a concealed weapon or improper exhibition of a weapon in South Florida, Arnesen Law can help. Jay Arnesen is a retired police officer turned defense attorney who now dedicates his life to defending citizens charged with criminal offenses.
During his service in law enforcement, Mr. Arnesen received the same advanced weapons training provided to officials working for the FBI, DEA, and US Customs Bureau. Ultimately, he understands the law, as well as the complexities involved in weapons cases, and can fully evaluate your case to identify any potential violations of your constitutional rights.
With offices conveniently located in Boca Raton and Fort Lauderdale, Mr. Arnesen appears in courts throughout South Florida on a daily basis. Contact his offices anytime at 561-419-9630 for a free consultation and find the help you need to the fight the State’s weapons case against you.
“As a former police officer, I used to help prosecute these charges for the State. Now, let me use my training and experience to combat these charges for you in court.” Jay Arnesen, Esq., Criminal Defense Attorney
Carrying a Concealed Weapon – Florida Statutes Section 790.01
Chapter 790 of the Florida Statutes governs crimes related to firearms and other weapons. Section 01 of this chapter prohibits individuals from carrying concealed weapons without obtaining the proper licensing as explained in Chapter 790 Section 06. In Florida, carrying a concealed weapon without a license can result in first degree misdemeanor charges, unless the weapon is a firearm, in which case the person can be charged with a third degree felony.
There are two exceptions listed under 790.01, both of which pertain to concealed items carried for the purpose of self-defense. For example, a woman who carries mace in her purse as a means of protection to be used only if necessary is not committing a criminal act as defined by this statute.
The law against carrying a concealed weapon is provided in its entirety below:
(1) Except as provided in subsection (4), a person who carries a concealed weapon or electric weapon or device on or about his or her person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(2) A person who carries a concealed firearm on or about his or her person commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
(3) This section does not apply to a person licensed to carry a concealed weapon or a concealed firearm pursuant to the provisions of s. 790.06.
(4) It is not a violation of this section for a person to carry for purposes of lawful self-defense, in a concealed manner:
(a) A self-defense chemical spray;
(b) A nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed solely for defensive purposes.
(5) This section does not preclude any prosecution for the use of an electric weapon or device, a dart-firing stun gun, or a self-defense chemical spray during the commission of any criminal offense under s. 790.07, s. 790.10, s. 790.23, or s. 790.235, or for any other criminal offense.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon – Potential Penalties
First Degree Misdemeanor Carrying a Concealed Weapon Offense: maximum term of 1 year in the county jail and fines not to exceed $1,000
Third Degree Felony Carrying a Concealed Weapon Offense: maximum sentence of 5 years in prison, up to 5 years of probation, and fines not to exceed $5,000
Contact Lake Park FL Carrying a Concealed Weapon Defense Lawyer Jay Arnesen for Immediate Assistance
Attorney Jay Arnesen is well-versed in Florida’s laws regarding weaponry and has the experience necessary to fight for your rights if you have been charged with carrying a concealed weapon in South Florida. Contact his Boca Raton or Ft. Lauderdale offices anytime at 561-419-9630 for a free consultation about your weapons case.