Boca Raton Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Defense Lawyers

dui overviewThe defense attorneys at Arnesen Law represent clients charged with driving under the influence (DUI), leaving the scene of an accident, and eluding police in Boca Raton, Delray Beach, and West Palm Beach, Florida. In fact, the firm’s founder, Jay Arnesen, devotes the entirety of his practice to criminal and DUI defense in South Florida.

Arnesen accumulated extensive knowledge of the specific components of DUI cases during his service as a former police officer. With advanced training in DUI detection, standardized field sobriety tests, and breath testing, he has developed a highly sophisticated lens through which to analyze these cases in order to formulate the best possible defense for his clients. Arnesen Law’s Boca Raton and Fort Lauderdale office locations provide the firm’s lawyers with accessibility to courts across South Florida, allowing them to represent clients charged in a wide variety of jurisdictions. Contact these skilled legal representatives anytime at 561-419-9630 to receive a free initial consultation.

As a former police officer, I used to help prosecute these charges for the State. Now, let me use my training and experience to combat these charges for you in court.” Jay Arnesen, Esq., DUI Defense Attorney

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) – Florida Statutes Section 316.193

Charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida are extremely serious, as detailed in Chapter 316, Section 193 of the Florida Statutes. There are a wide variety of penalties associated with these offenses, depending on the individual’s blood alcohol level at the time of the alleged offense and the number of DUI offenses (if any) the person has been convicted of in the past.

Among the potential consequences for those convicted of DUI are fines, a term of imprisonment, mandatory probation, a period of driver’s license suspension, community service, and completion of required substance abuse classes and/or treatment.

Section 316.193 governs DUI violations, providing, in pertinent part:

(1)    A person is guilty of the offense of driving under the influence and is subject to punishment as provided in subsection (2) if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and:

(a)   The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in s. 877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired;

       (b) The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or

(c) The person has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) – Potential Penalties

  • First Offense:
    • Fine:
      • BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15 or Refusal: $500 – $1,000
      • BAC of 0.15 or Higher: $1,000 – $4,000
    • Probation: 6 – 12 months
    • Jail:
      • BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15 or Refusal: up to 6 months
      • BAC of 0.15 or Higher: up to 9 months
    • DUI classes and/or substance abuse treatment
    • Community Service
    • License Suspension: 6 months
    • Vehicle Immobilization
    • Drug/Alcohol Testing
    • Conviction for Mandatory Misdemeanor
    • Ignition Interlock Device: 6 months for offenses involving BAC of 0.15 or higher
  • Second Offense:
    • Fine: $1,000 – $2,000
    • Probation: 6 – 12 months
    • Jail: up to 9 months
      • BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15 or Refusal: up to 9 months
      • BAC of 0.15 or Higher: up to 1 year
    • DUI classes (level 2) and/or substance abuse treatment
    • Community Service
    • License Suspension: 6 months – 5 years
      • Mandatory minimum of 5 years if within 5 years previous offense
    • Vehicle Immobilization
    • Drug/Alcohol Testing
    • Conviction for Mandatory Misdemeanor
    • Ignition Interlock Device:
      • BAC Between 0.08 and 0.15 or Refusal: 1- 2 years
      • BAC of 0.15 or Higher: Mandatory 2 years
  • Third Offense if Previous Offense was Over 10 Years Ago – Same as Second Offense Except:
    • Fine: $2,000 – $5,000
    • Jail: up to 12 months
    • Ignition Interlock Device: 2 years
  • Third Offense Within 10 Years of Previous Offense – Same As Second Offense Except:
    • Fine: $2,000 – $5,000
    • Probation: up to 5 years
    • Jail: 30 days – 5 years (in county jail or state prison)
    • License Suspension: 10 years – permanent revocation of driver’s license
    • Mandatory Felony Conviction
  • Fourth or Subsequent Offense – Same As Third Offense Within 10 Years of Previous Offense Except:
    • Mandatory permanent driver’s license revocation
    • Mandatory Felony Conviction


If you or a loved one has been charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in South Florida, the attorneys at Arnesen Law can provide the legal resources you need to fight these charges. Contact their offices anytime at 561-419-9630 for a free consultation about your case.

Tell Us About Your Case

Jay Arnesen is a retired police officer turned criminal defense attorney who now defends clients charged with criminal and traffic (DUI) offenses in South Florida. With offices conveniently located in Fort Lauderdale and Boca Raton, Mr. Arnesen appears in courts throughout South Florida on a regular basis. Protect your rights, contact experienced criminal defense lawyer Jay Arnesen anytime for a free initial consultation at 866-347-6296.

Arnesen Law, P.A.

Areas We Serve

Palm Beach County, Atlantis, Belle Glade, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Briny Breezes, Cloud Lake, Delray Beach. Glen Ridge, Greenacres, Gulf Stream, Haverhill, Highland Beach, Juno Beach, Jupiter, Lake Park, Lake Worth, Manalapan, North Palm Beach, Ocean Ridge, Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Palm Springs, Riviera Beach, Royal Palm Beach, Wellington, West Palm Beach


Boca Raton

1825 NW Corporate Blvd. Suite 110

Boca Raton, FL 33431

  (201) 556-1570  

Fort Lauderdale

633 South Andrews Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

  (866) 317-5164